Romanesque Doppelkapelle

Romanesque Doppelkapelle of the Kaiserburg (Imperial Castle in Nuremberg)

Construction of the Kaiserburg (Imperial Castle in Nuremberg) started in 1167. The art-historically most important part of the castle dates from this period — the Romanesque double-storied chapel (Doppelkapelle) that somehow survived all war damage, neglect, and historicist revisionist constructions. The crucifix here is probably by Veit Stoß but most of the other fittings were destroyed in the Second World War.