The Tabernacle of the Linaioli (Tabernacolo dei Linaioli, 1433-34) is a huge tabernacle painting by Fra Angelico with a marble frame designed by Lorenzo Ghiberti. It measures 260 x 330 cm. It was commissioned by the guild of linen workers, which explains the exquisite details of the drapery and emphasis on textiles. Originally displayed at the old market in Florence, it moved to the Uffizi in the 18th century but the San Marco Museum secured it in 1924.
The central painting is the Madonna and Child surrounded by twelve musician angels and a dove above the Virgin. The shutter panels have on the inside St John the Baptist (left) and St John the Evangelist (right) and on the outside St Mark the Evangelist (left) and St Peter (right).